The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction


The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction was founded in 2010 by the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch and Alistair Moffat, the Chair of Judges. The Duke and Duchess wanted to mark the very great achievements of their distant kinsman, Sir Walter Scott, and celebrate the resurgence of the genre he created.

Past winners of the prize include Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel in 2010, The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng in 2013 and An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris in 2014.

More information about the prize can be found here.

Shortlist 2017

Click on the title to read my review (when available)

  1. A Country Road, A Tree by Jo Baker
  2. Days Without End by Sebastian Barry
  3. The Vanishing Futurist by Charlotte Hobson
  4. The Good People by Hannah Kent
  5. Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
  6. Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift
  7. The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain

The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival in Melrose on 17th June.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s