#TopTenTuesday Books On My Autumn 2022 To-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl.

The rules are simple:

  • Each Tuesday, Jana assigns a new topic. Create your own Top Ten list that fits that topic – putting your unique spin on it if you want.
  • Everyone is welcome to join but please link back to That Artsy Reader Girl in your own Top Ten Tuesday post.
  • Add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s post so that everyone can check out other bloggers’ lists.
  • Or if you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment.

This week’s topic is Books On My Fall 2022 To-Read List. My list is a mixture of books for blog tours,  books for review that I’ve received via NetGalley or from the author, and my own purchases. Links from the title will take you to the full book description on Goodreads.

  1. Sleep When You’re Dead by Jude O’Reilly – “Spanning London, Washington and remotest Scotland, Sleep When You’re Dead is an edge-of-your-seat, heart-in-your-mouth action thriller”
  2. The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho by Paterson Joseph – “An illuminating and original tale of a Black writer and composer, Charles Ignatius Sancho”
  3. Act of Oblivion by Robert Harris – “Act of Oblivion is an epic journey across continents, and a chase like no other”
  4. One of Our Ministers Is Missing by Alan Johnson – “A government minister in the Foreign Office has vanished into thin air”
  5. Molly & the Captain by Anthony Quinn – “A celebrated artist of the Georgian era paints his two young daughters at the family home in Bath. The portait, known as ‘Molly & the Captain’ becomes instantly famous.”
  6. Under a Veiled Moon by Karen Odden – “In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery”
  7. The Coming Darkness by Greg Mosse – “Paris, 2037. Alexandre Lamarque of the French external security service is hunting for eco-terrorists. Experience has taught him there is no one he can trust”
  8. The Weather Woman by Sally Gardner – “Neva Friezland is born into a world of trickery and illusion, where fortunes can be won and lost on the turn of a card. She is also born with an extraordinary gift. She can predict the weather”
  9. Squire’s Hazard by Carolyn Hughes – The fifth in the author’s Meonbridge Chronicles set in 14th century England
  10. Mother of Valor by Gary Corbin – “Rookie Cop Valorie Dawes must stop an imminent violent attack by an extremist group. Little does she know, the ruthless, cunning organizer of the attack is her own estranged mother”

What books do you have on your To-Read list in the coming months?

 


#TopTenTuesday Book Titles Containing Geographical Terms

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl.

The rules are simple:

  • Each Tuesday, Jana assigns a new topic. Create your own Top Ten list that fits that topic – putting your unique spin on it if you want.
  • Everyone is welcome to join but please link back to That Artsy Reader Girl in your own Top Ten Tuesday post.
  • Add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s post so that everyone can check out other bloggers’ lists.
  • Or if you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment.

This week’s topic is Books with Geographical Terms in the Title, a topic idea submitted by Lisa of Hopewell’s Library of Life. Here is my selection from books I’ve read. Links from the titles will take you to my review.

The Straits of Treachery by Richard Hopton – historical fiction
The Cliff House by Amanda Jennings – thriller
The Island of Sheep by John Buchan – adventure

 

The Wooden Hill by Jamie Guiney – short stories
The Beach at Doonshean by Penny Feeny – contemporary fiction
The Mountain Man’s Badge by Gary Corbin – crime mystery

 

The Northern Reach by W. S. Winslow – saga
Splinter on the Tide by Phillip Parotti – historical fiction
The House by the Loch by Kirsty Wark – contemporary fiction
The Bell in the Lake by Lars Mytting – historical fiction