#WWWWednesday – 21st September 2022

WWWWednesdays

Hosted by Taking on a World of Words, this meme is all about the three Ws:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Why not join in too?  Leave a comment with your link at Taking on a World of Words and then go blog hopping!


Currently reading

The Bone FlowerThe Bone Flower by Charles Lambert (ARC, Gallic Books)

On a grey November evening in Victorian London, Edward Monteith, a moneyed but listless young man, stokes the fire at his local gentlemen’s club, listening to its members: scientists, explorers and armchair philosophers discussing their supernatural experiences and theories of life after death.

Edward is taken under the wing of some sceptics and attends a supposed séance where he is captivated by a beautiful young woman selling flowers outside the theatre. What follows is a quintessential Gothic novel, a ghost story, and an uncanny love story. 

Sleep When You're DeadSleep When You’re Dead by Jude O’Reilly (ARC, Head of Zeus)

Elite assassin and spy-for-hire Michael North is the man you call when there’s nothing left to lose. His tradecraft is unparalleled, he executes every mission with determination, skill and a certain amount of flair. There’s just one problem: the bullet lodged in his brain. If it moves, he will die – and so will the mission.

Now North’s been sent to infiltrate a doomsday cult on a remote Scottish island which is also home to a spaceport about to send thousands of commercial satellites into space. Their leader is planning a terrorist attack on the mainland, and it’s North’s job to stop him. Together with teen hacker Fang – the only person in the world he cares about – North must tackle a situation which is fast spinning out of control.


Recently finished

The Plague Charmer by Karen Maitland (Headline)

All the Broken Places by John Boyne (Doubleday)

1946. Three years after a cataclysmic event which tore their lives apart, a mother and daughter flee Poland for Paris, shame, and fear at their heels, not knowing how hard it is to escape your past.

Nearly eighty years later, Gretel Fernsby lives a life that is a far cry from her traumatic childhood. When a couple moves into the flat below her in her London mansion block, it should be nothing more than a momentary inconvenience. However, the appearance of their nine-year-old son Henry brings back memories she would rather forget.

Faced with a choice between her own safety and his, Gretel is taken back to a similar crossroads she encountered long ago. Back then, her complicity dishonoured her life, but to interfere now could risk revealing the secrets she has spent a lifetime protecting. (Review to follow)

 


What Cathy (will) Read Next

TheHouseofBirdsThe House of Birds by Morgan McCarthy (Headline)

Oliver has spent years trying to convince himself that he’s suited to a life of money making in the city, and that he doesn’t miss a childhood spent in pursuit of mystery, when he cycled around the cobbled lanes of Oxford, exploring its most intriguing corners.

When his girlfriend Kate inherits a derelict house – and a fierce family feud – she’s determined to strip it, sell it and move on. For Oliver though, the house has an allure, and amongst the shelves of discarded, leather bound and gilded volumes, he discovers one that conceals a hidden diary from the 1920s.

So begins a quest: to discover the identity of the author, Sophia Louis. It is a portrait of war and marriage, isolation and longing and a story that will shape the future of the abandoned house – and of Oliver – forever.

#TopTenTuesday Books On My Autumn 2022 To-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish and now hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl.

The rules are simple:

  • Each Tuesday, Jana assigns a new topic. Create your own Top Ten list that fits that topic – putting your unique spin on it if you want.
  • Everyone is welcome to join but please link back to That Artsy Reader Girl in your own Top Ten Tuesday post.
  • Add your name to the Linky widget on that day’s post so that everyone can check out other bloggers’ lists.
  • Or if you don’t have a blog, just post your answers as a comment.

This week’s topic is Books On My Fall 2022 To-Read List. My list is a mixture of books for blog tours,  books for review that I’ve received via NetGalley or from the author, and my own purchases. Links from the title will take you to the full book description on Goodreads.

  1. Sleep When You’re Dead by Jude O’Reilly – “Spanning London, Washington and remotest Scotland, Sleep When You’re Dead is an edge-of-your-seat, heart-in-your-mouth action thriller”
  2. The Secret Diaries of Charles Ignatius Sancho by Paterson Joseph – “An illuminating and original tale of a Black writer and composer, Charles Ignatius Sancho”
  3. Act of Oblivion by Robert Harris – “Act of Oblivion is an epic journey across continents, and a chase like no other”
  4. One of Our Ministers Is Missing by Alan Johnson – “A government minister in the Foreign Office has vanished into thin air”
  5. Molly & the Captain by Anthony Quinn – “A celebrated artist of the Georgian era paints his two young daughters at the family home in Bath. The portait, known as ‘Molly & the Captain’ becomes instantly famous.”
  6. Under a Veiled Moon by Karen Odden – “In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery”
  7. The Coming Darkness by Greg Mosse – “Paris, 2037. Alexandre Lamarque of the French external security service is hunting for eco-terrorists. Experience has taught him there is no one he can trust”
  8. The Weather Woman by Sally Gardner – “Neva Friezland is born into a world of trickery and illusion, where fortunes can be won and lost on the turn of a card. She is also born with an extraordinary gift. She can predict the weather”
  9. Squire’s Hazard by Carolyn Hughes – The fifth in the author’s Meonbridge Chronicles set in 14th century England
  10. Mother of Valor by Gary Corbin – “Rookie Cop Valorie Dawes must stop an imminent violent attack by an extremist group. Little does she know, the ruthless, cunning organizer of the attack is her own estranged mother”

What books do you have on your To-Read list in the coming months?