Buchan of the Month: Reading List 2019

buchan of the month 2019 poster

John Buchan (1875 – 1940) was an author, poet, lawyer, publisher, journalist, war correspondent, Member of Parliament, University Chancellor, keen angler and family man.  He was ennobled and, as Lord Tweedsmuir, became Governor-General of Canada.  In this role, he signed Canada’s entry into the Second World War.   Nowadays he is probably best known – maybe only known – as the author of The Thirty-Nine Steps.  However, he wrote so much more that is worth reading: fiction, poetry, short stories, biographies, memoirs and history.  In his lifetime, he published over 100 books.

You can find out more about John Buchan, his life and literary output by visiting The John Buchan Society website.

Continuing with the project I commenced in 2018, I’m going to read (in many cases, re-read) twelve more of John Buchan’s books in 2019: a different book each month.  You can find my reading schedule below and I would love it if other followers of this blog were to join me.  You do not have to read every book or follow my schedule although it would be great if you did so we can compare notes on our reading experience month by month.

As I did last year, I’ll post an article introducing each book at the start of every month (no spoilers!) and then publish my review of the book at the end of the month.  Simply comment on my review post with a link to your own review on your blog or on Goodreads.   If you don’t have a blog, then just put your thoughts about the book in a comment.  If you share your participation or your reviews on Twitter, please use the hashtag #ReadJB2019.

If you want to catch up on the John Buchan novels I read in 2018 you can do so here.

Reading Schedule

January: Prester John [1910] – adventure story set in South Africa

February: Salute to Adventurers [1915] – adventure story set in newly colonised America

March: The Path of the King [1921] – a band of gold belonging to a young Viking prince is passed from generation to generation

April: Midwinter [1923] – historical novel set at the time of the Jacobite rebellion

May:  The Three Hostages [1924] – the fourth book featuring the exploits of Richard Hannay

June: The Dancing Floor [1927] – adventure story featuring Sir Edward Leithen, set in the Aegean

July: The Runagates Club [1928] – collection of twelve stories told around the dinner table of the eponymous club

August: The Courts of the Morning [1929] – adventure story set in South America

September: The Blanket of the Dark [1931] – historical novel set in 16th century England

October: The House of the Four Winds [1935] – the sequel to Castle Gay, adventure set in the fictional Central European country of Evallonia in the early 1930s

November: Augustus [1937] – biography of the Roman Emperor

December: The Island of Sheep [1936] – the last adventure story featuring Richard Hannay

buchan of the month 2019