The Classics Club Spin #16

The Classics ClubHow time flies because it’s time for another Classics Club spin!

I’ve been making very little progress with my Classics Club List of late because I keep getting tempted by new releases and blog tours. So this is a great opportunity to focus on it and at least get one book from the list read before the end of the year!

The rules (courtesy of The Classics Club) are simple:

  • Go to your blog
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favourite author, re-reads, ancients – whatever you choose)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog before Friday, November 17th
  • That morning (17th November), we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce
  • The challenge is to read that book by December 31st, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (Not fair not listing any scary ones!)

So without further ado, here’s my spin list. My Classics Club List focused on women writers – with a few books by John Buchan thrown in for good measure. For my spin list, I’ve chosen mainly books I already own so there’s no excuse not to read whatever is selected!

  1. The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood
  2. The Power House by John Buchan
  3. The Watcher by the Threshold by John Buchan
  4. The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
  5. Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather
  6. The Price of Salt (Carol) by Patricia Highsmith
  7. The Crowded Street by Winifred Holtby
  8. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  9. Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
  10. Invitation to the Waltz by Rosamond Lehmann
  11. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers
  12. The Bell by Iris Murdoch
  13. Katherine by Anya Seton
  14. Memento Mori by Muriel Spark
  15. The Flowers of Adonis by Rosemary Sutcliff
  16. Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont by Elizabeth Taylor
  17. The Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Armin
  18. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson
  19. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  20. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

What would you be hoping for, or dreading, if you had my list? (Personally, I’m just hoping for a short one!)

 

16 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin #16

  1. If I read the Rosamond Lehmann three times can I skip the Iris Murdoch (I did read it when I was very young) and the Edith Wharton? May make a similar list for my blog this week, not what I was planning but you’ve got me thinking! Or may just hide…

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Hahahaha! I just found out! I’m in shock! It’s going to take more than one slice of cake to get me through this ordeal… 🍰🍷🍰🍷🍰🍷

        Enjoy the Pearl S Buck – I’ve only read one of her books, Imperial Woman, and enjoyed it. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, someone else commented they’d willingly read three others rather than the Wharton! I had to look up your no. 19 but I can see why you’d be happy with that. Let’s hope lady luck is kind to all of us. It’s great looking at everyone’s lists though…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

