Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read So Far in 2017

Rdtoptentuesday

I’d been intending to do a half-year wrap-up but then this topic turned up for Top Ten Tuesday from the lovely ladies at The Broke and The Bookish so I thought I’d join in. If you take part too, remember to add a link to your post on their blog page and then go blog hopping!

I’ve been lucky enough to read so many wonderful books in the past six months that it’s been difficult to choose. However, after much reflection, here is my list with some hints at the reason for my choice. Click on the title to read my review.

 

Best Second Novel – The Good People by Hannah Kent

Best Literature in Translation – The Executioner Weeps by Frederic Dard

Best Unconventional Love Story – Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik

Best Tearjerker – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Best Action Thriller – Ares Road by James L Weaver

 

Best Debut – These Dividing Walls by Fran Cooper

Best Short Novel Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift

Best New Historical Fiction Series – Vindolanda by Adrian Goldsworthy

Best Non-Fiction – A Countess in Limbo by Olga Hendrikoff & Sue Carscallen

Best Literary Prize-winner – Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Are any of these amongst your own Top Ten?  What have you read so far this year that would make your list?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read So Far in 2017

    1. Trust me, it’s sad. But it’s also uplifting at the same time. The film version was pretty good as well, not as good as the book though (they hardly ever are, are they?)

      Like

    1. Thank you. I think blogging has encouraged me to read different genres, although I do love my historical fiction. I see books recommended on other blogs that I probably would not have chosen them otherwise.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A Monster Calls is on my TBR so I’m happy to hear you loved it! I just keep putting it off because I’m afraid of the heartbreak. I’ll get to it sometime soon I guess, just need to be in the right mood for it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mothering Sunday has been on my TBR list for nearly a year now. I need to get to it this summer. It’s silly to have waited this long to read such a short book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to read Days Without End and almost borrowed it from the library last time I saw it but I have so many books out already I didn’t dare pick up any more 🙂 Maybe next time though.

    Like

Comments are closed.