Blog Tour: Last Witness by Carys Jones

Last Witness Blog tour banner

I’m delighted to host today’s stop on the blog tour for Last Witness by Carys Jones. Last Witness is the sequel to the bestselling psychological thriller, Wrong Number. I’m pleased to say that Carys has written a guest post on ‘Getting into Character’ which you can read below.

Spoiler Alert: If you intend to read Wrong Number, you may want to skip to the guest post. To purchase Wrong Number click here


LastWitnessAbout the Book

With her husband gone, and his legacy in her hands, Amanda Thorne is hell-bent on revenge.

Amanda Thorne is on a mission to avenge her husband. Restoring his honour and protecting his legacy will be dangerous, but she will not rest until all those who have hurt her loved-ones have been dealt with.  Her only option is to go undercover in the murky world of the gang kingpin McAllister. So, with her loyal companion Shane by her side, she heads back to Scotland to finish what they started.

McAllister’s world is one of seedy nightclubs, drug deals and beautiful women, but he is a hard man to get close to. As Amanda gets deeper and deeper into his dangerous world, what secrets from the past will come back to haunt her, and will she be able to protect the last witness to the truth?

A compelling, heart-stopping thriller which you won’t be able to put down…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Book Facts

  • Format: Paperback
  • Publisher: Aria
  • No. of pages: 300
  • Publication date: 1st May 2017
  • Genre: Thriller

Purchase links*
Amazon
Kobo 
iBooks 
Google Play 
*links provided for convenience, not as part of any affiliate programme)
Find Last Witness on Goodreads


Guest post: ‘Getting into Character’ by Carys Jones

In my books my characters are always so real to me that they feel like friends. I know everything about them – their favourite food, movies, what their early morning routine is. In many ways I tend to know them better than I do myself. But it doesn’t start out that way.  Whenever I start a new book I have to get to know my characters.  I tend to go about this by figuring out their core.  I think that a person’s central characteristics reveal a lot about them and have a ripple effect on their actions.

Take Aiden Connelly from my Avalon series. At his core he is desperate to do good and it’s this drive to do good that ultimately causes him to make mistakes. He’s always doing things for the right reason but that doesn’t mean that they are the right thing to do.  With Wrong Number and Last Witness, at his core Will Thorn is protective. He’s protective of Amanda and she loves that about him and it’s these instincts which drive his story.

So when I’m writing a new character I ask myself what characteristic defines them above all others. With Amanda it’s her determination. Curiosity is a close second but at her core she’s determined. It’s this tenacious attitude which makes her feel compelled to find Will in the first book and in the second to protect those closest to her. She always refuses to sit back and be a victim because she’s so determined.

I even look at myself this way. At my core I’m imaginative. This bleeds out in to all aspects of my life from my career to how I spend my free time.

What lies at your core? What about some of your favourite characters? People by their nature are complex but I think, when getting to know a character, it really helps to figure out the heart of their personality. Are they inherently cruel, kind, shy, afraid, fearless? And how will that core characteristic shape their journey?

I love getting to know characters. I feel like each time I do I end up learning a little bit more about myself xoxo


 Jones_CarysAbout the Author

Carys Jones loves nothing more than to write and create stories which ignite the reader’s imagination. Based in Shropshire, England, Carys lives with her husband, two guinea pigs and her adored canine companion Rollo.

Connect with Carys

Goodreads   https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7314534.Carys_Jones
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CarysJAuthor
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CarysJonesWriter/
Website: http://www.carys-jones.com/

Connect with Aria Fiction

Website: www.ariafiction.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ariafiction/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Aria_Fiction
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ariafiction/?hl=en
NetGalley: http://bit.ly/2lkKB0e
Sign up to the Aria newsletter: http://bit.ly/2jQxVtV

One thought on “Blog Tour: Last Witness by Carys Jones

Leave a Reply

