My Month in Books – April 2017

Reading list Ten books read in April with a concentrated effort to get up-to-date with ARCs from NetGalley in order to maintain my 80% feedback ratio and meet blog tour and review request commitments.

5 out of 5 reads:

  • Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift

4 out of 5 reads:

  • The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain
  • The X-Variant by Rosemary Cole
  • Gravel Heart by Abdulrazak Gurnah
  • Across Great Divides by Monique Roy
  • Faithless by Kjell Ola Dahl
  • Feast of Sorrow by Crystal King

3 out of 5 reads:

  • The 7th Function of Language by Laurent Binet
  • Exodus ’95 by Kfir Luzzatto
  • Sanctuary by T. M. Brown

MotheringMy read of the month (not difficult to guess) was Mothering Sunday by Graham Swift. Despite being a slim book, it’s packed with luscious writing and wonderful observation of people and their motives. (Oops, I’ve still got to write my review of it yet!) To my mind, it’s definitely worthy of its place on the shortlist for The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction. It may even be my favourite to win – but I’ll tell you that when I’ve read the rest of the shortlisted books.

Blog news A busy month with 35 posts consisting of book reviews, cover reveals, book blitzes, Q&As, extracts, giveaways and reading updates. I also created a new page to track my challenge to read all the shortlisted novels for The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

Challenges

  • Goodreads – At the end of April, I’d read 51 books out of my target of 78. So, well ahead of schedule…
  • Classics Club – On the other hand, no progress to report and (dismal failure) I even failed to read my spin book by the deadline of 1st May. However, in my defence, I did draw The Last Man by Mary Shelley which is a long book….
  • From Page to Screen – One article posted, my comparison of the book and film versions of A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • NetGalley & Edelweiss Challenge – Going well as I’ve managed to maintain my 80% feedback ratio for another month.

So that’s my month in books – how was yours?

6 thoughts on “My Month in Books – April 2017

  1. Wow, good job keeping up the reading and the blogging! I didn’t do so well with getting stuff read in April, but May’s already off to a great start. Having those long books is hard for making progress. :p Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luckily, I enjoyed pretty much all the books I read in April so it wasn’t that much of a slog. And it just worked out I had a lot of blitzes, Q&As, etc that didn’t take too much work. Although as we know, even those take more work than non-bloggers probably think k…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well that was a busy month for you! I think I reached that perfect spot in April with some fab reads all round most notably Sharon Bolton’s A Dead Woman Walking and Emma Flint’s Little Deaths.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.