Guest Post: Ares Road Playlist by James L. Weaver

author-banner

Today I’m delighted to welcome to my blog James L. Weaver, author of Ares Road, the eagerly-awaited sequel to the fantastic thriller, Poor Boy Road


Ares Road Playlist

Have you ever been to a movie where you find yourself rocking out to the soundtrack? Where you have multiple instances of finding yourself saying “Damn! Another good song!”. I’ve always thought if I had the opportunity to craft the soundtrack to a movie based from my work (because I’m sure the studio would let me do that), I would create something people would download.

Fun fact: The first original soundtrack came in 1937 from the Disney classic “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” and was released on multiple 78 RPM discs. For you youngsters, 78 RPM discs were smaller versions of regular records which turned at 33 1/3 speed. And if you’re too young to know what a regular record is then just keep it to yourself because you make the rest of us feel really freaking old.

So, without further ado, I give you the soundtrack to my forthcoming novel Ares Road in no particular order:

WOULD? – ALICE IN CHAINS
Ares Road presents another step in Jake Caldwell’s journey to get away from the leg-breaking mob life, but the more he tries to get away, the more he finds that lifestyle isn’t so easy to escape. This is a rocking song that I’ve always loved.

Into the flood again
Same old trip it was back then

SHED MY SKIN – ALTER BRIDGE
Jake is still haunted by the ghosts of his violent past and his desire to shed his mafia skin make this masterful song by Myles Kennedy and the boys a perfect addition. If you haven’t seen Alter Bridge in concert, you really owe it to yourself to do so.

Years have gone, I’m broken
Left the past unspoken
Those years, oh they haunt me still

THE KILLER INSIDE – BETTER THAN EZRA
Jake wants to change and needs to convince his girlfriend Maggie that he’s changing and leaving the violence beside. That need makes this tune from 1993 a perfect choice.

Well, she believes that time can make things right
And I want to believe that there’s been a change in me

START OF SOMETHING GOOD – DAUGHTRY
Ares Road is a continuation of Jake and Maggie’s journey, but Jake worries he’s not good enough for her and that his past is too dark. Still, he has hope which makes this song and its skillful acoustic guitar a great addition to the soundtrack.

I know that it’s gonna take some time
I’ve got to admit that the thought has crossed my mind
That this might end up like it should

SCREAM – HALESTORM
The first time I heard this pulse pounding song at a concert at the Voo Doo Lounge in Kansas City, I was hooked. Lzzy Hale has some powerful pipes showcased in this addition to the soundtrack.

The seeds in my head
Visions in red
All that I dream
And all that I’ve bled

CRAWL – KINGS OF LEON
The beat on the intro to this song just screams out a place in Ares Road. Would be a great song to play as Jake is on the prowl for the mysterious and deadly silver briefcase.

You broke my mouth
The bloody bits are spitting out
Is your grave unscathed
The worm is counting down the days

STAY – SARA BAREILLES
This soulful, slow song would be a great addition for the Jake and Maggie scene. Can’t say enough about how much I love the voice of Sara Bareilles and her music.

Stay tonight
Don’t come morning, don’t come light
They may be lies, but say we’ll be alright
If we stay tonight

DOES ANYBODY REALLY KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS – CHICAGO
Every good soundtrack has some throwback song and this one shall be no different. I’ve been playing the hell out of this 1970 classic on Spotify and it shall find a place here, even if it’s just on the radio in some random scene.

Does anybody really know what time it is
Does anybody really care
If so I can’t imagine why
We’ve all got time enough to die

Well, there you have it! The soundtrack to the upcoming thriller Ares Road. So pick up the book, give it a read and let me know on which songs I swung and missed and what you would have included. Shoot me a Tweet at @jlweaverbooks or an email at weaverbooks@jameslweaver.net.

Enter the Giveaway


ares-road-2 About the Book

Title: Ares Road (Jake Caldwell, #2) by James L. Weaver
Published by: Lakewater Press
Publication date: 2nd March 2nd 2017
Genres: Adult, Thriller

Synopsis

With his days as a mob enforcer behind him, Jake Caldwell’s trying to go straight.

But it seems his past won’t let him go.

His first job working as a private investigator turns up a teenage girl screaming down a dead man’s cell phone, and Logan, his mentor and the only man with answers, beaten into a coma.

Now Jake’s taking it personally.

The only clues Jake has to unravel the mystery are a Russian with a stolen, silver briefcase and three names: Snell, Parley and Ares. Teaming up with his best friend Bear, the Sheriff of his home town, and an attractive FBI agent, Jake quickly discovers they’re not the only ones looking for the briefcase and its deadly contents.

It’s no longer about seeking revenge.

The thrilling second book in the Jake Caldwell series is a heart-stopping ride that won’t disappoint fans.

jamesAbout the Author

James L Weaver is the Kansas City author of the Jake Caldwell series featuring IAN Thriller of the Year finalist Poor Boy Road and soon to be released Ares Road from Lakewater Press. He makes his home in Olathe, Kansas with his wife of 19 years and two children. His previous publishing credits include a six part story called “The Nuts” and his 5-star rated debut novel Jack & Diane which is available on Amazon.com. Author note: a handful of the raters are actually not related to him.

Author links:

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Ares Road Playlist by James L. Weaver

Comments are closed.